Michael Turner Comics

I’m not only a toy nut – I also love comic books. One of my absolute favorite artists is Michael Turner, a southern boy from Tennessee who moved to San Diego where he stumbled into comics. Oh I’m so glad he did, too, because his work is amazing.

A few months ago I went to Southern California Comics, a scary awesome cave-like comic book purgatory. I picked up these gems from Top Cow: Witchblade, Fathom, Darkness, and a Tribute to Michael Turner.

turner1

Why the tribute? Well Mr. Turner passed away in 2008 from bone cancer at the age of 37.  He was so immensely talented. He was responsible – almost single handedly – for creating my favorite comics, and I was only vaguely aware of him at the time. That first issue of Witchblade I picked up knocked my socks off. His art for DC Comics and Lara Croft: Tomb Raider were so good I often wanted to pull out pages and frame them.

turner2 turner3

I still miss the guy. He seemed like he was more than an artist, he seemed like a friend.

Leave a Reply

