The Curious Case of Ken Doll

Whoa…I was in the toy aisle of a Walmart recently and caught wind of this dude. Guess what? It’s Ken!

ken

Is it just me, or does he look like he’s 19? And look at those guns!

Here are some fun facts about Barbie Doll’s long-suffering boyfriend:

  • He’s had more than 40 jobs
  • Ken and Barbie met on the set of a TV commercial in 1961.
  • In 2004, they broke up and decided to be “just friends.”
  • For Valentine’s Day in 2011, they got back together! Though we still don’t know if they’re dating or not… So complicated!

Anyway here are the Ken Dolls I remember:

dreamdateken ken2 ken3

I can’t help but laugh hard when I see these old pics. Ken was our first macho role model and the supposed dream dude for Barbie! The reality is he had a hair helmet, a neck like meat loaf, and a very alien-like naked body. That goofy smile didn’t help his cause, either.

All jokes, aside, as a budding writer and story-teller, Ken made many a love story possible amongst my Barbie village, and I have great affection for the big oaf.

One thought on “The Curious Case of Ken Doll

  1. I wish you well in your pursuits. I’m always honored when people commit to following my blog, and a little awed as well — the responsibility to putting out work that people want to read. But, I have found out that the most important person I have to please, ultimately, is myself. If I don’t do that, it doesn’t matter how many I please in the long run. Sounds a little self-serving at first, but it’s true… 🙂

Leave a Reply

