Kawaii in Tokyo, Akihabara Madness

In Japan, everywhere you look there is cuteness. I was curious to visit Akihabara, Tokyo’s “techie” and anime district, not having a clue what I might see there. What I was surprised about was how outdated the technology in Japan seemed – from flip phones to DVDs and CDs that in the states are almost obsolete.

That being said, nothing prepared me for the overload of anime cuteness I saw in some of the large department stores.

FullSizeRender (1) FullSizeRender (2) FullSizeRender (3) FullSizeRender (4) FullSizeRender (5) FullSizeRender IMG_0349

 

These shops were packed with collectibles and jam packed with Japanese teenagers. The Gashopon machines covered walls! I indulged in a few items here and regret that I didn’t get back here.

Elsewhere in Tokyo, one of the things I fell in love with were the Shinto Ema, or “wishes” that people added to temples.  These were small wooden plaques that people drew on in hopes of having their prayers or wishes answered. How creative and talented are these people??

FullSizeRender (6) FullSizeRender (7) FullSizeRender (8) FullSizeRender (9) FullSizeRender (10)

 

I continue to be amazed by the people and the culture in Japan!

3 thoughts on “Kawaii in Tokyo, Akihabara Madness

  1. You’re right everything is so cute. I’m trying to learn to draw big eyed girls. My daughter is great at it. I’m at the 101 level. Thanks for sharing love the pics and info.

Leave a Reply

