Customized Pullip Dita – Ophelia Doll

Who doesn’t sympathize with Ophelia, the tragic heroine from Shakespeare’s Hamlet?

I always appreciated the painting by Millais, because in my opinion it did not show a young woman driven into madness. To me, Ophelia in her last moments had reclaimed her life and her will.

1920px-John_Everett_Millais_-_Ophelia_-_Google_Art_Project (Image from Wikipedia)

Ok, that will drove her to a watery grave, but I digress.

This doll was more of a “project” than anything, and it was loads of fun to finish. Why? Because she was a gift for a very special friend of mine whose love of art and literature really inspired me to create something special.

FullSizeRender (47) FullSizeRender (46) FullSizeRender (45) FullSizeRender (44) FullSizeRender (43) FullSizeRender (42)

My mother was gracious enough to create Ophelia’s dress, which needed to be appropriate for the period, but also faithful to the idea that Ophelia cared little for social graces at this point in the play. My favorite part of her outfit is the necklace of purple flowers sewn into her dress.

FullSizeRender (41)

For her box, I wanted to re-create the look of Ophelia drifting through water. This took some craftiness that was definitely outside my comfort zone.

FullSizeRender (40)

Lastly, a OOAK doll simply isn’t complete without a collector’s card, so she got one of those, too.

FullSizeRender (39) IMG_2191

 

I can’t wait for Ophelia to make her way to her new home!

20 thoughts on “Customized Pullip Dita – Ophelia Doll

    1. Thank you! And thank you for reading this blog! You leave such nice comments and I don’t feel like I have had a chance to chat with you much! I should remedy that! 🙂

  1. The photos in the garden, among the plants, are just perfect! This is how I picture her before she drifts in the river: singing among the trees, like a dryad, or a being out of this world– much above us all. Even my husband ,who never notices anything, stopped by the side of Ophelia and remarked that she was a very pretty doll and she was dressed like a goddess. I agree with you: the flowers in her dress that match her wreath are wonderful– a touch of genius. You made me laugh so much in the phrase: “faithful to the idea that Ophelia cared little for social graces at this point in the play.” You certainly have a way with words!

  2. It’s inspiring to see how you share another level of collecting. To be able to transform Dita into Ophelia showcases possibility. It gets my creative juices flowing and I’m looking forward to seeing more.

  3. This was an outstanding project. I’m sure your friend really appreciated your creativity and attention to detail as well as your knowledge of the play and how you were able to show Ophelia’s beautiful character.

    1. Thank you so much! I found myself being terrified that she wouldn’t like the doll, isn’t that silly? I think the best thing I’ve gathered from collecting dolls is that I’ve been able to meet so many amazing people. That may sound corny but this doll was a symbol of that happiness I found! Anyway thank you so much for your kind words. 🙂

      1. Well, I was a closet doll lover (as an adult) for a long time until I came “out.” I adore dolls; they give me so much joy and they bring out my happy child side. I enjoy watching your videos because I can see how much you love your pullips and are so descriptive. Your videos helped me decide how to narrow down what I would want. Though I’ve been a doll collector now for over 15 years (antique dolls and collectible dolls from 1930s -1950s) I just discovered pullips a few weeks ago- and now I have seven already! My gosh. Fortunately I don’t have any more room!!

      2. Oh my goodness you sound like me! For decades I had bins of toys and dolls hiding in a garage or basement. I had tucked away that passion and yet every trip to Target or Walmart had me “accidentally” passing through the toy aisle. Haha. I couldn’t be happier now that I’m surrounded by my dolls and yes, Pullips are addictive, aren’t they??? Which was the first that you saw that pushed you over the edge?? Mine was Alice du Jardin Mint. 🙂

      3. Well, it was Vocaloid Miki Hatsune. I’m embarrassed to admit that when you were holding her and I saw that long crazy turquoise hair hanging down, my heart started beating fast and something inside said “I have to have her”! I immediately went to Pullipstyle.com and bought her. I loved her( though her hair is unwieldy!) would buy another and tell myself, that’s enough – then buy another. I have one more coming – yes, eight dolls total and that’s got to be it because I don’t have any more room!! I do love every one of them. *(I have Aurora Steampunk, Bloody Red Hood, Kuhn, Akoya, Tokidoki Luna and Milk Latte. Tokidoki Violetta is on the way. I was on the fence about Milk Latte but I undid her pigtails and her hair has more volume and looks nice. She’s really pretty, but I’m getting her another outfit that’s less frilly so she won’t stand out like a sore thumb so much from all of her naughty sisters! 🙂

  4. That’s fantastic! That is very close to my story as well. I got Snow White for Christmas, thinking “Well one won’t hurt.” But then as a surprise I got three more. After that, the addiction was in full swing!! These dolls bring so much joy and each one if so unique and fun. Anyway very nice to meet you!

    1. I got vocaloid Hatsune Miku for my birthday (being a fan) from my brother, then my hubby jumped on the bandwagon (as I got so much joy from my first doll) and got me a Princess Serenity. That seriously killed me. After that, it was Nana-Chan (who is GORGEOUS, and my favourite), then Galene (the toilet paper doll), Byul Secomi, Nanette and I was gifted Dal Joujou and My Favorite Ribbon recently. Before Pullip, I was notoriously hard to buy for, and now my friends are like “she likes those dolls!” so they are consistent with presents haha!

  5. You are so talented I wish I was as talented as you. Also I was wondering if you had a good name for a custom Pullip with long lost get blonde hair and ice blue eyes? I would really like it if you followed my blog or answer me back, you see I just started to collect Pullips and it would so amazing if I got some advise from a pro.

    P.S. I think you are so funny, pretty, and fun to watch on YouTube.

    Your #1 fan

    1. You are very sweet. How about Avery, Kalani, Gemma, Hunter, Arielle, Madison, or Adaline, or Josette? 🙂

Leave a Reply

