Pullip Marianne by Groove

Confession – I had been looking at Marianne for quite some time, and I was very intimated by that hairpiece. After a doll’s eyes I am drawn to their hair, and this pre-French Revolution lass just wasn’t exactly my cup of tea from the stock photos.

That was until I saw her in person. WOW-wee! What a beauty.

FullSizeRender (2)

Everything you see in her hair is attached in some fashion, whether it’s by string or strip of fabric and glue. The rolled hairpieces on the side feel like they have Styrofoam in them and they too are attached to her wig.

FullSizeRender (3) FullSizeRender (4) FullSizeRender (5)

Her outfit is an exercise in over-the-top, and I was a little shocked by the contrast between the super-formal front and the casual eyelet back. A “business up front, party in the back” approach… interesting.

FullSizeRender (6) FullSizeRender (9) FullSizeRender (11) FullSizeRender (12)

The doll itself is very pretty, but not exactly my style. I will admit that I got her from the “dented box” section on Pullipstyle, and that was enough for me to bring her home.

(Look at the size of her box! Marianne certainly likes to make an entrance!)FullSizeRender

7 thoughts on “Pullip Marianne by Groove

      1. Thanks for the answer. If price isn’t an issue, would you recommend her or the Antoinette doll? I’m a fan of The Rose of Versailles and planning on buying the Antoinette doll. I actually was battling with myself since the doll doesn’t exactly resemble 100% the manga character. I won’t recognize her without the advisement saying she’s Antoinette from The Rose of Versailles. Then I found Marianne and to me she looks more like Marie Antoinette. I literally fall in love.

      2. I would recommend Marie Antoinette over Marianne, but that’s my personal preference. Both dolls are beautiful but that rich pink is so lovely and I do love her anime eyes. Her hair is a bit more versatile too as you can remove the side pieces.

Leave a Reply

