Pullip Aya by Groove

Holy hair, Groove! I had seen pics of Pullip Aya and asked myself, “But why?” I’m being hard on her and she’s now angry at me, but in all seriousness I did not understand at all what Groove was thinking when they designed Pullip Aya, aka Pullip Las Vegas Showgirl.

April 2015 444 April 2015 445 April 2015 446 April 2015 447 April 2015 448 April 2015 449 April 2015 450 April 2015 451 April 2015 453 April 2015 454

I was curious enough to do some research on her, as she’s such a pretty doll with the most unusual stock.  In Japanese fashion, while Lolita style is considered little girl like and innocent, “Hime” style, or Gyaru is more sophisticated and over the top high end fashion.  Here’s a great excerpt I found on Wikipedia about Hime Gyaru:

“It is one of the more over the top and also one of the most expensive style of dress of all of the categories. The hime style is largely based on the Rococo era. Gyaru of this style wear dresses or skirts in pink or other pastels with lots of lace and bows. Rose patterns, pearls and crown motifs are also very common. Headpieces range from large bow clips with pearls to rose accents, while the hair is either bleached, poofed up in a bouffant at the top and curled or a wig/extensions are worn. The make-up style has even more exaggerated eyes than the typical gyaru. Hime gyaru does not only include clothes, but many girls see it as a way of life and make or buy custom-made decor for their homes. The style blossomed in the early 2000s but has since declined or turned more casual (this version is referred to as hime kajii), even if the old one is still present. Not to be confused with Lolita fashion.”

If that’s the description, Aya is your pinup! I couldn’t resist giving her a make-under, though, and found her to be equally charming without her low-cut dress and dangling earrings.

May 2015 227

4 thoughts on “Pullip Aya by Groove

    1. Thank you! I was speechless when I got her, but that was before I understood the fashion. Haha. I had taken to calling her “Vegas Showgirl” Pullip, because I like to give these girls their own silly names. 🙂

  1. Aya definitely makes a statement with that plunging neckline. I really liked what you did with her make under.

    1. Thank you! You can imagine when I first got her my jaw dropped. Would I want my daughter to have a doll like this?? But as an adult collector I can appreciate the thought Groove put into her. 🙂

Leave a Reply

