Pullip Batgirl Wonder Festival Japan

Do you know how hard it is to find Pullip Dolls with skin tones that aren’t fair, pale,  or ghoulishly pale? Pretty hard, actually, and I can’t help but wonder if Groove has a thing against diversifying their line.

A happy exception to the sea of pale is Pullip Batgirl Wonder Festival, the blue-haired counterpart to San Diego Comic Con’s Batgirl from 2011.

May 2015 011

This gal is very unique, from her blue/black hair, her dramatic lips, and her silver metallic eyes. It’s a very intense look, and certainly nothing like a Batgirl I recall from the comics. Still, finding a doll with that skin color is like finding a four-leaf clover!May 2015 020 May 2015 023 May 2015 028 May 2015 058 May 2015 059 May 2015 061 May 2015 063

I ended up giving her a bit of a makeover, because that batsuit was itchy.

June 2015 198

10 thoughts on “Pullip Batgirl Wonder Festival Japan

  1. She’s truly lovely and a Batgirl to boot! This has been my major problem collecting Pullips, the need for a little more skin tone variety. Don’t get me wrong I love the vast majority of them, I would just like to see some darker skin tones. I really enjoyed the “Another Alice” line of Pullips, I believe there was another girl before that, but I can’t remember at the moment. I hope Groove will revisit those ideas…someday.

    1. I completely agree! That is why I was so mesmerized with her. I think variety makes a doll even more unique, and even the “gray” toned skins are few and far between. I would love to see more shades of skin tones – especially with the make it own kits!

  2. What a lovely doll she is! I absolutely love her skin tone and her blue hair, they match perfectly. I have a weakness for girls with a broad smile like her. I agree with you: Groove should make more dolls with darker skin tones. If Nahh Ato was not so expensive now, I would certainly buy her because she is enchanting.

    1. I was taking photos of her just the other day, and though I have since given her a little bit of a make-over, she is even more unique and beautiful. I wish Groove would expand its skin tones!

  3. Hi, I’m extremely new to this doll hobby and I just got myself a Pullip Batgirl Wonder Festival. My absolute luck because coming into this hobby with little-to-no knowledge at all, and finding it almost impossible to find physical stores here, I managed to stumble upon one physical store and got one of the most beautiful dolls I have ever seen! But I have so many questions and I tried finding info online but it’s so difficult! I have since saw your videos on YouTube and I was wondering if you don’t mind, if you could teach me a thing or two like, how to manage her curly hair, how to find different hand gesture parts for her, just anything at all. Thanks for your time. Take care! 🙂

    1. Hello my dear and my apologies for not getting to you sooner. I have been crazy busy! I am happy to answer any question you have.

Leave a Reply

